In Appreciation

The Hyperlocal Newsroom (Spring 2011)The students of The Hyperlocal Newsroom (from left): Claire Glass, Kathryn Kattalia, M.J. Gonzalez, Crystal Bell, Rachel Ohm, Ian Duncan, Grace Maalouf, Greg Howard, Mark Riffee, Kenan Christiansen and Hadas Goshen.

Today, we would like to extend our appreciation to the students and community contributors who have joined our experiment in collaborative journalism in recent months.

They have joined so many others who have shared their talents and energy with the blog. The site could not exist without them – and all of you who read and engage with The Local.

The students of The Hyperlocal Newsroom:

Special acknowledgements must go to Darragh Worland, who leads the multimedia portion of the curriculum in The Hyperlocal Newsroom, Brooke Kroeger, the director of NYU’s Carter Journalism Institute, and Mary Ann Giordano, deputy metropolitan editor at The Times.

Newly published contributors from NYU Journalism:

The Local’s newly published community contributors:

We also appreciate the hard work of Kim Davis, the site’s associate editor and Colin Moynihan, who served as community editor.

The Local’s newly published photography contributors: