East Village Election Issues

In an Election Night appearance on NYU News, Suzanne Rozdeba, who covered the key local political races, discusses how neighborhood issues such as noise complaints, liquor licenses, bike lanes and pedestrian safety played a role in Tuesday’s balloting.

Results of Local Races

Voters cast ballots for candidates in seven local races — three for U.S. representative, two for State Senate and two for State Assembly — and by overwhelming margins returned every incumbent to office.


8th District

Rep. Jerrold Nadler defeated Republican Susan Kone, with 75 percent of the vote, returning him to Washington for his 10th term.
Nadler (D): 75%
Kone (R): 25%

12th District

Rep. Nydia Velázquez, who faced Conservative Party candidate Alice Gaffney, captured her 10th term with 93 percent of the vote.
Velázquez: 93%
Gaffney: 7%

14th District

In her district spanning the space between the Lower and Upper East Sides, Rep. Carolyn Maloney handily won her re-election to a 10th term in the East Village’s most crowded race. In a four-person field, she took 75 percent of the vote, more than triple the next closest share. Her trio of conservative opponents—Republican Ryan Brumberg, Independent Dino LaVerghetta, and Conservative Timothy J. Healy—received 22 percent, 2 percent and 2 percent, respectively. The last time Ms. Maloney’s share of the district vote was this low was in her first election in 1992.
Carolyn Maloney (D): 75%
Ryan Brumberg (R): 22%
Dino LaVerghetta (I): 2%
Timothy J. Healy (C): 2%


25th District

The 30-year-old State Sen. Daniel Squadron won re-election to a second term with 86 percent of the vote, defeating opponent Joseph Nardiello, a Republican.
Squadron (D): 86% (45,000)
Nardiello (R): 14% (7,562)

29th District

State Sen. Thomas Duane won re-election to his seventh term, bringing in 85 percent of the vote to Republican challenger Joseph Mendola’s 15 percent.
Duane (D): 85% (63,628)
Mendola (R): 15% (11,350)


64th District

Sheldon Silver, the Assembly’s longest-serving speaker, won re-election to his 18th term in an uncontested race in his district.

66th District

State Assembly Member Deborah Glick defeated William Buran for her 11th term, 87 percent to 13 percent. However, though he spent no money to campaign, Mr. Buran did double his share of the vote from his share in 2008, when he ran (and spent $20,000) in the 72nd District and received 7 percent.
Glick (D): 87% (26,560)
Buran (R): 13% (4,093)

74th District

State Assembly Member Brian Kavanagh defeated his Republican opponent, Dena Winokur, with 84 percent of the vote for his third term.
Kavanagh (D): 84% (20,905)
Winokur (R): 16% (3,891)
Clint Rainey

For more results and comprehensive coverage of local, state and national races, visit www.nytimes.com.